Skip navigation

This intial post will be very long and I will put as many clips in as I get.  I don’t know whether I’ll follow this format going forward.  I am doing this live, so the comments are my reactions to what I’m watching as I see it.  I might editorialize later. 

Intro – I missed the credits ’cause I was pouring the wine.  (I know you didn’t think I was watching this sober.)  But who is the emcee?  He’s rather corny and already annoying.

Judges – Belinda Carlyle; June Ambrose; Larry Rudolph; and some gay dancer dude named Jamie

Jessie Money – Her father is kinda harsh but that may help her in the competition.  Not bad.  Her voice was much better than expected.  The music was a little too loud.  She didn’t do anything but stand in front of the mike.  But her scores are good.

Landon Brown – Starting off, Bobby’s slurring his words.  I’d like to think it’s just excitement, but… Anyway, here’s Landon now.  Not bad.  Not great though.  Jesse was better I thought.  But he has better stage presence.  And the scores reflect the weak voice.  Interesting that they all are saying that he has “something” but he needs to work on the vocals.

Chloe Lattanzi – Okay I can’t decide if she can sing or not.  She can’t hit the high notes, but the low was interesting.  No stage presence at all.  Even though Jessie just stood there like she did, Jessie held your attention.  Chloe was bland.  Wow. 9.5: it’s her voice.  It’s very different.  4.5: High school talent show?  Damn.

Lucy Walsh – She’s the best singer so far.  She has stage presence.  She’s my favorite thus far.  Very good.  I can’t wait to see the scores.  She should get at least one 10.  And she did from Larry ’cause she’s the one to beat.  His words.  I wonder how that makes the people who haven’t even gone yet feel.

Jesse Blaze Snider – I like his personality.  Great presence.  Hard to judge the voice but he’s working this song.  So, since Lucy got a 10, can Jesse?  No, he can’t.  5.0: He was okay, not great. 

Lil’ B. Sure – He’s going to sing “A Song For You”?!?!?  Good voice and good presence.  They changed some notes for him.  His range is limited but he knows how to work around it okay, not great.  9.0: best vocals of the night.  The low score, 5.0, I understand ’cause it’s Donny and he didn’t represent, but judged on its own merit he was good.

Lara Johnston – Pop singer but with a voice.  This song isn’t right for her.  Presence isn’t bad but she needs work.  5.0: he’s an asshole; everything is about him and image.

A’keiba Burrell-Hammer – Great song choice.  Excellent voice.  Needs more presence.  Sell it more.  Vocals are not great though.  Song may not have been the best choice as it was a little out of her range.  She got a 10.  It’s her voice and everyone sees the potential.  But she’s very raw.

Crosby Loggins – He plays guitar.  That makes him stand out.  Like him.  Decent voice not great but he sells it well.  Average.  Not bad, but not great.  Secretly sexy?  I agree.  Lighten up?  I can see it; he was so focused on his singing and playing, he forgot he was performing. 

Lucy is untouchable for this weeks.  We’ll see next week who gets kicked off.  I pick Landon or Chloe.  You?

Miss NJ:  I have found videos of all the performances, but I am having difficulty uploading them.  I’ll work on it throughout the day.  My day-after critique: the show was better than I expected and the kids are more talented.  Some, like Lucy Walsh and Crosby Loggins, are more polished and more professional than the others.  But all have some talent that can be cultivated.  This may not have been such a horrible idea after all.

UPDATE:  MTV is being very stingy with the videos and i can’t post here.  So, starting on next Thursday, I will try to post links to each remaining singer.

Leave a Reply

